Jul 25, 2024  
2023-2024 Graduate Catalog 
2023-2024 Graduate Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

About College of Charleston

Institutional Core Values

We take accountability for our actions and adhere to the highest ethical standards in all our professional obligations and personal responsibilities. We demonstrate respect for self, others, and place.

Academic Excellence
We are committed to a dynamic intellectual community, high academic standards, strong academic programs, exceptional teacher-scholars, engaged students and lifelong learners.

Liberal Arts Education
We encourage intellectual curiosity and foster each student’s ability to think creatively and analyze, synthesize, apply, and communicate knowledge from many sources.

Diversity, Equity & Inclusion
We create and nurture a diverse and inclusive community demonstrated through our thoughts, words, and actions. We value and respect the unique perspectives, backgrounds, and experiences every individual has to offer.

Student Centeredness
We are devoted to nurturing thriving scholar-citizens through the intellectual, ethical, and social development of each individual student.

We act with an entrepreneurial spirit to imagine and implement creative, bold, and sustainable solutions in our pursuit of excellence and continuous improvement.

Public Mission
We demonstrate social responsibility in meeting the educational and professional needs of our community, our state, our nation, and the world.

Statement of Institutional Mission

Founded in 1770, the College of Charleston is a public university grounded in the principles of the liberal arts and committed to developing ethically centered, intellectually versatile, and globally fluent citizens who create innovative solutions to social, economic, and environmental challenges.

The Mission Statement (also called the Statement of Purpose) has been approved or revised by the State College Board of Trustees or the College of Charleston Board of Trustees on January 16, 1974; March 12, 1986; January 16, 1991; February 15, 1994; July 13, 2006; July 23,2014; August 25, 2014; and May 7, 2020


The College of Charleston will be a transformative national university redefining liberal arts education through innovation.

Executive Officers of the Administration

Andrew T. Hsu

Suzanne Austin
Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs

John Loonan
Executive Vice President for Business Affairs and Chief Financial Officer

Alicia D. Caudill
Executive Vice President for Student Affairs

Cathyn H. Mahon
Interim Executive Vice President for Institutional Advancement

College of Charleston Board of Trustees

R. McLaurin Burch

Elizabeth Middleton Burke

John H. Busch

Demetria Noisette Clemons, Vice Chair

Henry A. Futch, Jr.

Andrew A. Gianoukos

Henrietta U. Golding

David M. Hay, Chair

Shawn M. Holland

Randolph R. Lowell

Toya D. Pound

Penelope S. Rosner

Renee Buyck Romberger, Secretary

August G. Swarat II

Brian J. Stern

Steve D. Swanson

Craig C. Thornton

Ricci Land Welch

Neysa Williams

John B. Wood, Jr.

Elizabeth W. Kassebaum - Executive Secretary to the Board of Trustees